Zittel Medal


The Zittel Medal is awarded by the Paläontologische Gesellschaft to persons not working professionally in the field of paleontology, who have made a significant contribution to the field.

With this medal, the society acknowledges the importance of private collectors and amateur paleontologists, who advance our field in many areas of research through their dedication.

Karl Alfred von Zittel

Karl Alfred von Zittel studied geology and medicine at the University of Heidelberg under Heinrich Georg Bronn, among others. Zittel received his PhD at the University of Heidelberg in 1860. In 1863, he achieved his habilitation in Vienna and became a lecturer there. He became professor for Mineralogy and Geognosy at the Polytechnikum in Karlsruhe in the same year. He directed the Natural History Museum and became professor of geology at the University of Munich in 1880. From 1869 until his death, he published the journal Palaeontographica.

Recipients of the Zittel Medal

2018Udo Frerichs, Hannover
2014Annette Oechsler & Harald Oechsler, Waghäusel
2013Helmut Tischlinger, Stammham
2010Armin Scherzinger, Hattingen
2009 Klaus-Dieter Weiß, Fischbach
2008Volker Dietze, Riesbürg & Werner K. Weidert, Korb † 2016
2007 Rolf Goßmann, Bonn
2005 Willy Ockert, Ilshofen
2004Helmut Leich, Bochum † 2016
2003Herbert Menzel, Bremen † 2017
2002Dick Mol, Hoofddorp
2001Ulrich Kaplan, Gütersloh & Henk Oosterink, Winterswijk
2000Manfred Kutscher, Sassnitz
1999Wolfgang Rebske, Bergisch Gladbach † 1997 & Christine Rebske, Bergisch Gladbach † 2009 
1998Klaus-Peter Kelber, Würzburg & Siegfried Rein, Erfurt
1996Gerhard Rohrbach, Dotternhausen
1995Hans Hagdorn, Ingelfingen
1994Erich Thomas, Witten
1993Lothar Schneider, Düsseldorf † 2004
1989Arno Heinrich, Bottrop † 2009
1988Walter Müller, Esslingen † 2003
1987Günther Schaumberg, Eschwege † 2017
1986Rudolf Schlegelmilch, Aalen
1984Werner Pockrandt, Hannover † 1988


                                                                               compiled/revised by M. Reich, 09/2018


The Fossil of the Year 2020 is Archaeopteryx. It exemplifies the transition between non-avian ...

Members of the advisory board for the Paleosynthesis project have been elected. Dear members of ...


Paläontologische Gesellschaft e.V.
Weismüllerstr. 45
60314 Frankfurt am Main

Tel.: +49 (0) 69 / 400 3019 71
Fax: +49 (0) 69 / 400 3019 74